A pillow from unexpected scraps

Full bedroom - my little pillow is hiding on the right. It's light blue.

I actually made this pillow over a year ago when I re-did our master bedding. I had used a king size sheet set to make a new duvet cover (shown in picture). I actually still really like this bedding set…which is surprising because lots of times if I make something, I tire of it quickly. It’s kind of like when you cook all day and then don’t want to eat the meal? Does that happen to any of you? Anyway – The CSI Challenge is having a pillow contest and I knew I could share my pillows from here… but then this other one popped in my head as one of my faves.

I made it with scraps from the sheet used for the duvet. I actually removed the elastic corners of the fitted sheet and sewed it willy-nilly on a sheet scrap and then used that as a pillow cover. The back is plain white. It’s got great texture.

So here you go with some close-ups!

Fun, huh? The picture of our bedroom was actually at our old house. We moved last year in anticipation of our move this year. Will the bedding set survive another move? Stay tuned to find out. I think even if not, my willy-nilly elastic band pillow will travel along.

Check out a bunch of super cute ideas here:

About Melany

I love fabric, sewing, building, DIY, learning, researching and sharing. I find inspiration from others that have pursued and found their passion doing what they love. My biggest success is my family. We are four and we are awesome. They motivate and drive me to do what I love. I want my kids to believe that anything is possible.
This entry was posted in Main Navigation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A pillow from unexpected scraps

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog! Your pillow is super cute. What a great way to use something that I think most of us would have thrown away. I love the way it looks.

  2. Your pillow is so cute and clever!

Leave a Reply

