Handmade for baby boy

Some of our friends just adopted a baby boy. Being an adoptive parent myself, I have a soft spot for adoptive families. This baby needed something made with extra love. His mommy told me that he doesn’t really have a color theme…but that she has an aversion to trucks and sports – and that her hubby loves monkeys. So, that’s what I had to work with. 😉

Knowing this family, I also knew that they would appreciate and share my love of something unique and re-cycled. So – to the thrift shop I went where I bought two large cotton shirts. Then, I got some super soft minky-ish fabric from fabric store. I cut and pieced the shirts into a quilt top – and then just added the backing. It’s reminiscent of the blanket I made here. A couple things I love about this one:

  • The cotton shirts are lighter weight and work great for a snuggly but temperature appropriate blanket for this time of year.
  • I added in some random cashmere squares for an old sweater.
  • One of the shirts had an embroidered flower patter  that I used on a few squares.
  • I left the pocket on… and stuck in a handmade sock monkey. I’m in love with the little fellow.

Pictures:

About Melany

I love fabric, sewing, building, DIY, learning, researching and sharing. I find inspiration from others that have pursued and found their passion doing what they love. My biggest success is my family. We are four and we are awesome. They motivate and drive me to do what I love. I want my kids to believe that anything is possible.
This entry was posted in Main Navigation, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Handmade for baby boy

  1. Liz says:

    What a sweet blanket 🙂 The sock monkey is the perfect touch.

    I found you from the Indie Biz class and wanted to hop over and say hi. I’m a seamstress as well, though I sew primarily clothing and accessories. Can’t wait to see your new blog design, and I agree it’s the perfect way to kick start your journey!

    Happy weekend!

    -Liz

Leave a Reply

