My vintage quilt

My sewing, antiquing and crafting gene didn’t just come out of nowhere. Both sides of my family have artistic tendencies. What I used to take for granted as a way of life, I’ve come to appreciate as I get older – I didn’t realize that not everyone could (or would want to) create a beautiful quilt. Or that all parents and grandparents don’t actually display artwork in galleries. I was always confused by people who said things like, “I am just NOT creative”… really? Why not? It was a way of life for me. If I wanted new doll clothes, we made them. New curtains? We sewed them. In fact, my love of creating led me to my Bachelor’s degree in education. How fun to create all those classroom decorations and bulletin boards (unfortunately I found out you have to also enjoy hanging out with kids all day – ahem). That’s a whole different story. 😉

Now, as my appreciation for the “creativity” or “crafty” gene has grown – my love for this one particular quilt my grandmother gave me years ago also has grown. When she gave it to me, I’m sure I said ‘thank you’ and even meant it…but now when I snuggle with it – I think about it so much more. It is sewn out of tiny pieces of dresses my mom wore as a child. How sweet is that? Here are a few snapshots of the blocks that showcase the beauty.

It’s now one of my favorite things and I use it all the time. I can’t imagine the patience it took to do this all by hand, I’ve never done a quilt by hand – and only small ones by machine. But I do look at this quilt for inspiration. I’m not inspired to hand-sew a quilt (come on now), but the colors and patterns inspire me to keep creating and make me happy when I think of the history. I also always think of my grandma, who is now 95 years old. So – if I am lucky enough to have not only inherited her crafty gene but her longevity one? I have a lot more sewing and creating ahead of me!
About Melany

I love fabric, sewing, building, DIY, learning, researching and sharing. I find inspiration from others that have pursued and found their passion doing what they love. My biggest success is my family. We are four and we are awesome. They motivate and drive me to do what I love. I want my kids to believe that anything is possible.
This entry was posted in Happy Ramblings, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

