Handmade Stick Horses for kids

My son flatters me by asking to make him things that most kids would assume need to be bought.

Sometimes I have to disappoint due to time (or skill) restraints. But – a lot of the time I just go for it and it turns into a fun adventure for the two of us. And when I say “the two of us” I mean mostly me. And the he enjoys the end product. 😉

So, earlier this week he decided that he wanted a hobby or stick horse like his younger sister’s – you know – so they could race and joust and stuff.

Projects like this are do-able when you have a model that you’re working from. Here is our model:

Store bought. 🙂

The first thing I did was to draw on paper each piece that the original has. After cutting them out – we had the beginnings of our horse.

  • Remember to label each piece as you draw. Once you cut – it is sometimes hard to remember where they go.
  • Keep as symmetrical with your double-pieces as possible. A little bit off and your horse turns out pretty wonky.
  • Remember to plan for color changes on your horse appropriately. This first one we made stayed brown throughout – but notice the white nose on the original…you would need to cut that out in white fabric, right? 🙂

Horse pieces.

I don’t have pictures of the assembly because that’s where things start to get hairy. But – I ended up making three of these, and like any project, it got easier as I did the subsequent ones.

We attached the head to the dowel by sticking the dowel well up into the stuffing and then lining the ring around the bottom of the head with hot glue. We then hot glued a piece of twine to the horse head opening and tied it tight, securing it to the dowel. If I were doing a real tutorial – I’d show that here. 😉

Side view. We used a dowel from Home Depot. Probably 28" or so?

"Wing's" proud new owner.

Top view of our new horse, "Wing".

My lovely niece with "Lazy". Lazy was made after Wing so that my niece would have one too.

Giddy up! If you look very closely - there is a tiny toddler in the back. He even got his own mini-stick horse. He was not in the mood for pictures.

About Melany

I love fabric, sewing, building, DIY, learning, researching and sharing. I find inspiration from others that have pursued and found their passion doing what they love. My biggest success is my family. We are four and we are awesome. They motivate and drive me to do what I love. I want my kids to believe that anything is possible.
This entry was posted in Main Navigation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Handmade Stick Horses for kids

  1. Richelle says:

    Those are such cute horses!

Leave a Reply

