Advent Calendar for Grandparents

We currently live relatively close to my parents – but the other grandparents live in Florida. We aren’t going to be with them for Christmas this year so I wanted to do something special that would make them feel like they were still celebrating with the kids.
 
We made this advent calendar by doing the following:
  • Made 24 pictures “goodies” from the kids – these are things like; drawings, notes to “Grammy and Nonno”, maybe a poem or two, pictures of the kids, and other handmade treasures
  • Cut a green felt Christmas tree and glued it to a piece of lightly spray painted plywood (it’s about 10 ” x 20 ” I think?)
  • Used decorative tacks to attach little bags (each numbered 1 – 24) to the tree
  • Tucked each bag with a little surprise

Ta-Da! They loved it.

Close-up. Plain yellow star with some rub n buff, little bridal goodie bags and decorative thumbtacks hold "treasures".

I’ll share pictures of the goodies at some point…but not before they open them all. My mother-in-law might read this. 😉

Happy Holidays!

Linking up to 30 Days – check it out!

About Melany

I love fabric, sewing, building, DIY, learning, researching and sharing. I find inspiration from others that have pursued and found their passion doing what they love. My biggest success is my family. We are four and we are awesome. They motivate and drive me to do what I love. I want my kids to believe that anything is possible.
This entry was posted in Happy Ramblings, Kids Crafts, Main Navigation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Advent Calendar for Grandparents

  1. So cute! I just put our advent tree for the girls together today during nap time. They were so excited when they woke up. But I love your idea for a grown up version!

  2. Mique says:

    What an adorable, thoughtful idea! I love it! Thanks so much for linking up on 30days. xo,Mique

Leave a Reply

