Antique Wooden Stool

This project was special because my son wanted to do it ALL BY HIMSELF. I think part of it is because he is also a creative sort and likes the idea of sharing a hobby with me (he and Daddy play sports and fish together all the time). I also think part of it is because he has seen me make a little bit of money with my projects and he wants to start his own little business. This is great – but he’s six. I’ve promised that I’m not going to charge him rent for a least another four years – so he doesn’t need to work quite yet.

Anyway – I got this stool at the same sale where I found my lovely little turquoise chair. It was dirty and worn. The wood is very grainy – as if it was made out of an old barn. I like it. Here’s how it started…

So dirty and sad.

Between this picture and the next one - my son scrubbed, sanded and carefully planned exactly what he wanted to do.

Here we are stenciling his words on it. He allowed me to hold the stencils.

Cute! We kept it antique-y with the stenciling...he used a light blue and just dabbed paint, then sealed the whole thing. I'm impressed.

This shot inside shows the blue color of the lettering better.

So – there you have it. His first big before and after. 😉 I am very proud that he saw this project through to the end. He’s not always the most patient with his big ideas. I have no idea where he gets that. Ahem…

I’m linking up (lots of awesome furniture re-do’s) :

Miss Mustard Seed

About Melany

I love fabric, sewing, building, DIY, learning, researching and sharing. I find inspiration from others that have pursued and found their passion doing what they love. My biggest success is my family. We are four and we are awesome. They motivate and drive me to do what I love. I want my kids to believe that anything is possible.
This entry was posted in Main Navigation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

