Completed shirt project

I posted last week a picture of a very cute shirt/dress that I spotted at a boutique here in Nashville. The next day I headed to the Goodwill and bought this XL men’s shirt to play with. Big and not too cute.

In fact, a shirt only a dog could love...

 

blah - boring, completely unflattering

 
 
I did the following to the big ol’ shirt:
  • Cut the sleeves off
  • Pinned it down the sides to taper it into a more womanly cut
  • Cut the collar off (if you do this right up next to the seam, you don’t even have to hem it again.)
  • Cut the pocket off
  • Used all the excess from the tapering to make RUFFLES!
  • Even added a little ruffle around what used to be a collar
  • Hemmed a little cuff onto the now short sleeved shirt
  • Used more of the excess to make a little waiste tie (next time I’d make this thicker somehow)
I would probably even go for an XXL next time because it just gives you more to work with. This one turned out pretty cute…although I like the color of the inspiration one better. What do you think?
 
 
 

Ooh la la - finished product

About Melany

I love fabric, sewing, building, DIY, learning, researching and sharing. I find inspiration from others that have pursued and found their passion doing what they love. My biggest success is my family. We are four and we are awesome. They motivate and drive me to do what I love. I want my kids to believe that anything is possible.
This entry was posted in Main Navigation, Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Completed shirt project

  1. Gussy says:

    OH EM GEE, too cute! :] love it!!!

  2. Kim says:

    Now, at what point did you whip this out … before or after the camping trip?

Leave a Reply

